Day 1 Hong Kong

It is now our third night in China, and while I have some internet (not facebook because China blocks it), I will try to quickly update everyone on what is going on, and so that I don’t get too far behind.

Being the Disney buff that I am, I promised myself that I would have at least one international Disney experience. I am going to be busy on the two days we are in Tokyo, so Hong Kong was the only option. After some friends cancelling at the last minute and everyone else having either FDPs or leaving for big trips, so I decided to go by myself. I thought that it would be extremely boring, but I ended up having a great time.

On the way to Disney, taking Hong Kong’s well organized and advanced subway system, I ran into a family from California, on their way to Nepal for a few weeks. I forget their names, but their daughters had two weeks off from school and the father was some sort of scientist heading up to do some research. I told them about SAS and we got to do some travel talking. I love running into fellow Americans abroad and compare experiences! Almost as much as I love meeting locals!
I had never been to the Disneyland in California, so I saw some attractions that I have never seen before like the Golden Mickeys. I was curious about what Asian adaptions that there would be, and I noticed that there more stirfry and noodle dishes, but there was still a lot of American options. The only other main differences was the mix of Mandarin in the performances and the tour guides on the adventure trips spoke Mandarin. Other than that and the signs, it was your typical Disney! One ride that I really enjoyed was the “Its a Small World” attraction. It hit home even more after seeing so many different cultures how similar we all really are, even though we focus more on our differences. Even though I only had one day in Hong Kong, I’m glad I went and had the Disney experience. The fireworks are always worth it!
Once I got back to the ship, I showered, changed, and took the ferry back over to the mainland. It was my friend Jessey’s birthday that night, so I met up with a few other friends (Halley and Sahana) and made our way over to the Lang Kwai? district. It seemed like everyone from SAS was there. We eventually found Jessey and celebrated properly. I had to get some sleep for my flight to Beijing the next day, so we eventually headed back to the ship.

Its getting late so I’m going to stop with day 1, but Great Wall updates will be coming! In short, the Great Wall is amazing. I thought it would get boring after a while, but every turn is breath taking. Its really hard to describe actually.

Good night! (or whatever greeting it is for wherever you are!)

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

